// Word?!
Caity's Cents, Reviews

Concept-driven, flippin’ awesome.

I set out expecting to write about how disappointing it is when amazing artists kind of fall by the wayside, and stop putting music out. Originally this section was supposed to be devoted to doing album reviews of, you know, current NEW albums. But let’s face it, I’m not that cool, I tend to find out about things way later than everyone else. I also tend to tangent when I need to focus, like I tried listening to music that came out this week, but then realized all I wanted to do was put the Solillaquists of Sound on repeat and write about them. My friend and former roommate lent me their CD No More Heroes while we were living together, knowing that I would like it and oh man, do I ever. No matter how many times I listen to it I find something else that sparks me. Not only are the Solillas super smart and talented, but Heroes does something that I really respect, it calls for people to empower themselves, for individual action. Something that is especially important in these times where inaction can seem like a viable option, we have to remember the passions that drive us and not wait around for a hero to make everything all right.

Another cool thing about Heroes is that the first single off the album when it came out “Death of the Muse” was a tribute track to J Dilla, with 100% of the profits from the single going to J Dilla’s mother who was dealing not only with her sons death, but with financial and medical problems at the same time. So for J Dilla month, besides listening to a bunch of Dilla, check out this track, it features J-Live, Chali 2na (from Jurassic 5), and it opens with a little into from Ma Dukes herself. Oh also it’s an AWESOME track.

So the cool thing about this mini-kindofsortof album review is that I came into it expecting to whine to you guys about how Solilla hasn’t been putting out any music at all, Heroes came out in 2008 and their website hasn’t been updated since late 2010. Of course my mind goes to immediate worst case scenario mode, assumed they broke up or something equally uncool, BUT got really excited because apparently they are going to put out a new album this year! It’s going to be called 4th Wall, and the concept sounds amazing, all Brechtian breaking the wall between artist and listener.. all those nerdy cerebral ideas that really get me going. Other than that, there’s not too much info about the 4th Wall out there, I don’t know when exactly it’s going to be out or anything, so if you hear anything let me know right away!!

Folks, Solillaquists of Sound are great, No More Heroes is awesome, if you’ve never heard it, go listen to it and if you have well, pull a Caity and repeat it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Thoughts?

Countdown till D'Angelo!May 30th, 2013
It's D'Angelo Time! Go get your grown and sexy on at Olympia tonight

Word?!

Say Word is always accepting new submissions and contributors. Be sure to contact us at saywordmtl@gmail.com if you've got anything you want to share

Categories

Archives

