// Word?!
Caity's Cents

Caity’s Open letter to Hip Hop

How a prairie born dork fell so hard in love with Hip Hop

Growing up, I was not exposed to very much Hip Hop at all. You know, besides the odd rap break in Backstreet Boys songs, my education in all things Hip Hop was seriously lacking. Saskatchewan in the 90s was not, at least in the circles that I ran in, uh, at 10, a musically discerning place. It was only later, listening to Wu Tang and Lauryn Hill for the first time, that I realized what a huge movement and history I had been missing. After living in Montreal for a few years, during my indiepunkmetal days in high school, when MF Gold and I joined the Youthworks theatre program, that my love for Hip Hop went from pretty much not existing, to a soul aching want for beats and rhymes to fill my ears, to occupy the space in my mind that had finally stood up and taken notice. We were so lucky man, not only did I get Hip Hop schooled there (literally, we had classes), I was fortunate enough to theatre alongside young artists making a name in the Hip Hop scene. So there I was, 14 or 15 years old, just learning who I was, and there was Hip Hop, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t appreciated its massive power and wonder before. The Montreal scene that was my first introduction to my own love for Hip Hop, continues its inspiration and influence, and here I am, invited into a forum where I get to talk about Hip Hop and share my love for it week to week and I couldn’t be more excited. I can’t wait to learn what else I’ve been missing, to hear from artists and appreciators, and of course from my girl MF Gold.

   xx-Caity

Discussion

Comments are closed.

Countdown till D'Angelo!May 30th, 2013
It's D'Angelo Time! Go get your grown and sexy on at Olympia tonight

Word?!

Say Word is always accepting new submissions and contributors. Be sure to contact us at saywordmtl@gmail.com if you've got anything you want to share

Categories

Archives

